Banana Muffins

Today I decided to make banana muffins because I wanted to use up the ripe bananas that have been sitting in my fruit bowl for the past several days.  I normally make banana bread, but figured muffins would be a good alternative because they’re small & easy to eat, & I knew that the individual portions would freeze well.  I found the recipe in my trusty & timeless Better Homes & Gardens cookbook.  The only modification I made was to add some cinnamon & a pinch of nutmeg to the muffin batter, in an effort to impart a little extra flavor.  I added ½ teaspoon of cinnamon, but next time I recommend doubling that amount-  ½ teaspoon was barely noticeable.  The streusel topping on these muffins is really tasty, and gives them a wonderful cinnamon-sugar flavor- yum!

I baked the muffins in a miniature muffin pan.  I recently received the mini muffin pan as a wedding gift, & I was excited to try it out!  The mini muffins turned out great, & now I want to bake all my future muffins in miniature form :)  Bonus: Each mini muffin is only 92 calories!  Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1 ¾  cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3  cup sugar
  • 2  teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼  teaspoon salt
  • ½- 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • 1  egg, beaten
  • ½  cup milk
  • ¼  cup cooking oil
  • ¾ cup mashed banana (approximately 2 bananas)
  • 1  recipe Streusel Topping

Streusel Topping: In a small bowl stir together 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour, 3 tablespoons packed brown sugar, and 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon. Cut in 2 tablespoons butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Directions

- Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease twelve 2-1/2-inch muffin cups (I sprayed them with Pam Baking Spray.  Set aside. In a medium bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Make a well in center of flour mixture; set aside.

- In another bowl combine egg, milk, and oil.  Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Also add mashed banana to flour mixture.  Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy).

- Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full. Sprinkle Streusel Topping over muffin batter.

- Bake for 18 to 20 minutes or until golden and a wooden toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. (For mini muffins, bake for approximately 12 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean).  Cool in muffin cups on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Remove from muffin cups; serve warm.

Makes 12 muffins (or 24 miniature muffins)

Source: Better Homes & Gardens New Cookbook

1 Response to “Banana Muffins”


  1. 1 Eric November 17, 2009 at 6:22 PM

    Oh no! I forgot to eat one this morning.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

