Butternut Squash Mashed Potatoes

A few years ago I had dinner at this restaurant in Lake Tahoe.  One of the side dishes on my plate was mashed potatoes that were orange colored.  They were delicious!  They were so good, I even asked the waiter what it was that made them orange.  He told me that it was a mixture of white potatoes & sweet potatoes.  I thought this was a brilliant idea, and ever since then I have wanted to make my own “orange” mashed potatoes.

Since I did not have sweet potatoes on hand, I decided to make butternut squash mashed potatoes.  I had a leftover butternut squash sitting on my counter that was not used for Thanksgiving, so I decided that this would be the perfect opportunity to use it.  I quickly turned to Google to search for recipe inspiration, and I found this recipe from Epicurious.  After glancing it over and seeing the stellar reviews, I decided it was worth trying.

The mashed potatoes turned out excellent, and they were so easy to make.  They are a great alternative to regular mashed potatoes, and I will definitely be making them again.  They also look pretty on the plate because of the orange color.   I served them with a side of steamed broccoli and a chicken breast and it was a very easy, healthy, and yummy dinner!

Next time I will try making this recipe with sweet potatoes instead, just to compare.

Source: Adapted from Bon Appetit (December 1993)

Mashed Potatoes and Butternut Squash

Ingredients:

- 2 large russet potatoes, peeled & cubed

- 1 small butternut squash, peeled, seeded & cubed

- 3 garlic cloves

- 2-3 tablespoons butter

- Salt

- Pepper

Directions:

Bring 1 inch of water to boil in large pot. Set steamer rack in pot. Place potatoes, squash and garlic on rack. Cover pot and steam vegetables until tender, adding more water to pot if necessary, about 15 minutes.  Remove garlic cloves & discard.  Transfer vegetables to large bowl. Add the butter and mash vegetables until fairly smooth.  (If desired, add a little warm milk to reach desired consistency).  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

(Can be prepared 2 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature. Reheat uncovered in 350°F oven for 30 minutes.)

Yield: 4-6 servings

I served these mashed potatoes with a chicken breast and side of steamed broccoli.

1 Response to “Butternut Squash Mashed Potatoes”


  1. 1 Eric December 3, 2009 at 10:45 PM

    They were really good. Had a nice mild butternut squash flavor and the color was fun. I added more salt for flavor.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

