Eggplant Timbale

Lately I have been attempting to try more recipes from my cookbook collection.  So last week I was flipping through this book, and came across this recipe for Eggplant Timbale.  It sounded interesting, and it seemed like a good opportunity to use my brand new spring form pan that was a wedding gift from my friend Meghan.  I don’t care for cheesecake, so pasta seemed like the perfect thing to bake in a spring form pan!

I made a few modifications to the recipe to tailor it to my taste, mainly by adding zucchini, using Parmesan cheese & part-skim mozzarella cheese instead of smoked mozzarella & Pecorino Romano, and substituting Chardonnay for the Marsala wine.  The resulting dish tasted great, but the spring form pan was a flop (literally!)  As soon as I turned the pan over to invert it onto the plate, (hoping to get a perfectly shaped timbale like the picture in Giada’s book), it completely flopped all over the plate & counter!

Perfectly assembled timbale in spring form pan

Collapsed timbale

It made me laugh because it totally caught me off guard.  When I was assembling the timbale, I was so careful to make it look perfect, and then it just completely collapsed all over the counter.  Nevertheless, it still tasted delicious.

I made this recipe again last night for a family dinner, and this time I assembled the timbale in a 13×9 inch Pyrex baking dish.  This worked MUCH better.  This recipe is a definite keeper & I will be making it again!

Success with the Pyrex baking dish

Eggplant Timbale

Recipe adapted from Giada De Laurentiis (Cookbook: ‘Giada’s Kitchen’)

Serves: 6-8 servings

Ingredients

-         1 medium eggplant, sliced ¼ inch thick

-         4-6 zucchini, sliced ¼ inch thick

-         1/3 cup olive oil, plus 2 tablespoons

-         ½  teaspoon salt

-         ¼  teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

-         1  pound penne pasta

-         1 medium onion, diced

-         1-2 cloves of garlic, minced

-         ½  pound ground beef

-         ½  pound sweet Italian pork sausage, removed from casings

-         ¼  cup dry white wine

-         1 cup frozen peas

-         4 cups marinara sauce

-         1 ½ cups shredded part skim mozzarella cheese

-         ½  cup grated Parmesan cheese

-         ¾  cup chopped fresh basil leaves, plus 2 tbsp.

Directions

Place a grill pan over medium-high heat or pre-heat a gas or charcoal grill. Using a pastry brush, lightly brush the eggplant slices with 1/3 cup olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. (Or you can just place the sliced eggplant/zucchini in a large bowl & toss with the olive oil & salt to coat).  Grill the eggplant & zucchini until tender and colored with grill marks, about 4 minutes per side. Set aside.  (Note: You can omit the eggplant & just use zucchini, if desired).

Bring a large pot of water to a boil over high heat. Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally.  Drain pasta.

Meanwhile, warm the 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large skillet. Add the onion and sauté until tender, about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and sauté 1-2 minutes.  Add the beef and Italian sausage, and brown the meat, breaking it into bite-sized pieces with a wooden spoon until fully cooked. Add the wine and cook until the liquid has evaporated, about 3 minutes.  Add the peas and marinara, stir to combine, and simmer 5 minutes.  Turn off the heat. Stir in the basil and cooked pasta. Season with salt & pepper if desired.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Line a 13×9 inch baking dish with the grilled eggplant and zucchini, alternating.  Then layer the pasta, mozzarella & parmesan cheeses, and top with another layer of eggplant & zucchini.  Repeat.  Top with one last layer of eggplant/zucchini to completely enclose the pasta.  Bake until warmed through and the cheese has melted, about 30 minutes.  Serve with the remaining Parmesan cheese & basil.  Enjoy!

pasta mixture

1 Response to “Eggplant Timbale”


  1. 1 Laura January 26, 2011 at 7:18 PM

    I have to laugh, because the whole thing collapsed on me, too!!! I was also so careful to make it look perfect beforehand.

    AFTER this happened, I noticed the comments at the bottom of the recipe on the Food Network website say to let the timbale rest for at LEAST 15 minutes. Of course, my fiance and I hadn’t eaten all day, so we waited 5 minutes at most:)

    Also, my meat mixture was very liquefied even after cooking it for the suggested time, so the next time I make it I’m going to drain the liquid before I pack it into the pan– I think that will make a HUGE difference.

    I totally agree with you– the thing tastes soooooo delicious!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

