Puff Pastry Pizza

Puff Pastry Pizza with Tomato Sauce


Whenever my fridge gets full of random leftover ingredients, I make a “clean out the fridge” dinner, where I try to use up as many things from my fridge as possible.  Last week I had leftover homemade tomato sauce, 2 artichoke and roasted garlic sausages (Aidell’s brand), a block of parmesan cheese, 2 Roma tomatoes, a carrot, and some asparagus.  So I decided to make pizza with a side of steamed carrots & asparagus.

I had planned on making the pizza dough from scratch, but when I went to grab a packet of yeast out of the freezer, it had expired in 2007, so I threw it out.  I couldn’t find any more packets of yeast in my kitchen, but I did find a package of Pepperidge Farm frozen puff pastry dough in my freezer.  I pulled it out, looked at the box, and the box said to go to www.puffpastry.com for recipe ideas.  So I went to the website, and apparently there are hundreds of things you can make with frozen puff pastry dough.  I never would have thought to look there for recipes.  I found a recipe for pepperoni pizza and printed it out.

The pizza turned out great – the puff pastry crust was lighter and fluffier than regular pizza.  And it was the perfect way to use up some of the ingredients I had.

Adapted from: www.puffpastry.com

Puff Pastry Pizza

(print recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1 sheet puff pastry dough (such as Pepperidge Farm)
  • tomato sauce (jarred or homemade… whatever you have)
  • shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Toppings of your choice: (I used 2 diced, cooked sausage links, 2 sliced tomatoes, some Parmesan cheese, and Italian seasoning)

Directions

  1. Thaw pastry dough at room temperature for 40 minutes.  Heat oven to 400’ F.
  2. Unfold dough onto lightly floured surface.  Roll into 15”x10” rectangle and place on a baking sheet.  Prick dough thoroughly with a fork.  Bake for 10-12 minutes. – Note: Do not under bake or your pizza will be too doughy.
  3. Spread tomato sauce over the dough, leaving a ½ inch edge.  Top with mozzarella cheese and toppings of your choice.  Bake 5-7 minutes or until cheese melts.
  4. Cut into 8 pieces and serve.

Serves: 4

Steamed carrots & asparagus are an easy and healthy side dish

2 Responses to “Puff Pastry Pizza”


  1. 1 Kathy February 25, 2010 at 7:28 PM

    This pizza looks so yummy! I have puff pastry in my freezer so
    I will make Friday eve.

    Thank You!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

