My Cookie Cutter Collection

My Cookie Cutter Collection

I’ve mentioned before that I really like to bake and decorate sugar cookies.  It’s so fun to create different designs, and since the cookie is the canvas, you can eat the “mistakes”… or as I call them, the ugly cookies.  :)  I’ve been collecting cookie cutters for years, and I now have a pretty large collection.  Some of the cookie cutters were gifts and many came in sets.  They are from a lot of different stores, including Williams Sonoma, Sur la Table, Michaels, Crate and Barrel, etc.  I like making sugar cookies for all occasions, especially holidays and parties.

I keep all of my cookie cutters in a large plastic box, and while it’s not the most organized system (they are all just randomly thrown in there), it works for me.  I don’t mind digging through the box to find what I’m looking for.  The problem is, sometimes I forget which ones I have or what they look like.  And when I want to make cookies for a certain occasion, I need to know which shapes I have to work with (ie.- which ones to look for when I am digging around in the box!)  To fix this problem, I decided to create a photo inventory of all my cookie cutters.  (Note- I did this quickly, so some of the photos are a little blurry or dark).  Here are the photos!

Insects: Butterflies, dragonfly, frog, snail, caterpillar, ladybug

Baby: bear, onesie, rocking horse, carriage, rattle

Baptism or other church event

Flowers

Easter: Eggs, basket, sheep, bunnies, carrot, duck

Fruits: Apples, strawberry, peach, pear, banana

ABC's

Numbers

More Numbers

Birthday: balloon, icecream cone, cupcake

St. Patrick's Day shamrocks

Circles

Crinkle Cut Squares

Holiday: Lots of Christmas trees, candy canes, holly, snowmen, gingerbread boys, reindeer, Santa, stocking, ornament, Holiday light, snow hat, mini bell & angel

Fall Leaves

Halloween: pumpkins, ghosts, bat, witch hat, haunted house, BOO

Shapes: circles, pentagon, triangle, diamond

Transportation: rocket & car

Wedding: diamond ring, wedding bells, cakes, wedding or bridesmaid dresses

Sports: jersey, footballs, bat, hockey stick, helmet

Snowflakes

Stars

New Year's/Celebrations: champagne flute

Valentine's Day: Lots of hearts, XO, cupid, dove, lips

The entire collection

This is where I store all of them.

5 Responses to “My Cookie Cutter Collection”


  1. 1 Whitney June 25, 2010 at 11:59 AM

    I love the fall cookie cutters! I just bought a bunch of tin autumn leaves in preparation for fall decorating. They are so pretty, I may keep them out all year. Do you have pictures of any leaf cookies from years past?

  2. 2 Kathy June 25, 2010 at 1:57 PM

    Wow, what a collection. I liked them sorted rather than in the box.
    What fun to have so many!
    KR

  3. 3 Susan E July 15, 2011 at 3:20 PM

    Great collection! I started sorting mine in separate smaller bins by theme because I started buying two of the same.:-). I am in search of a 3 and 4″ crinkle square cutters, please let me know where you bought them?

  4. 5 Min December 27, 2011 at 5:56 PM

    Love it! Glad I’m not the only one who LOVES to collect cookie cutters!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

