Chocolate Whipped Cream Frosting with Mini Chocolate Chip Cupcakes & Dark Chocolate Garnishes

Chocolate Whipped Cream Frosting with Mini Chocolate Chip Cupcakes & Dark Chocolate Garnishes


This was my first time making chocolate whipped cream and it was a huge success.  I love my other chocolate frosting recipes, but when I made these cupcakes I was in the mood for something a little lighter than standard chocolate frosting, which is often very rich.  Whipped cream is such a perfect pairing for cakes and cupcakes, but I was craving chocolate, so I pulled out several of my baking cookbooks in search of a recipe for chocolate whipped cream.  The first ones I checked had nothing (Baking Illustrated & The Williams Sonoma Baking Book).  I found a recipe in the third one (Baking From My Home to Yours, by Dorie Greenspan), however it required 4 hours of chilling in the fridge, and I didn’t have that much time (I made these cupcakes on a whim).  Finally, I found a recipe that I could use, that would be ready in the time it took to whip the cream- perfect!  It’s so easy to make this whipped cream, and such a fun change from regular whipped cream, although it has the same fluffy airy texture.  It reminded me a lot of chocolate mousse (yum!) and it also tasted like hot chocolate to me.  (That’s probably because I used the same Ghirardelli chocolate powder that I use when I make hot chocolate).  Eric and I loved this frosting.  He raved about it, and was sad that I washed the mixer bowl before he got a chance to lick it clean (sorry babe!).

The more I make whipped cream, the more I realize that it really is very customizable.  For example, if you add crushed Oreo bits, you get Oreo whipped cream.  I already have so many other ideas for desserts that I want to make with this frosting.

For the cupcakes, I used my favorite white cupcake recipe.  And because I like to switch things up with my favorite recipes, I folded ½ cup of mini chocolate chips into the batter.  I also halved the recipe and baked them in my mini cupcake pan (it made 24 mini cupcakes) – the perfect little treat!

Then, onto the really fun part!  Playing with chocolate.  :)  I decided to make the cupcakes extra pretty by adding little dark chocolate garnishes to them.  This is a super easy way to dress up a cupcake and make it look fancy and whimsical.   All you have to do is melt chocolate chips in the microwave, pour the melted chocolate into a squeeze bottle, “draw” your designs onto a baking sheet lined with waxed paper, and freeze until set.  It’s like edible chocolate art- yum!

For the cupcakes: I used this recipe, and folded 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips into the batter before filling the muffin tin.  As noted above, I halved the recipe, which yielded 24 mini cupcakes (or 12 regular sized cupcakes).

I found these cute black and white polka dot mini cupcake wrappers at Michael’s. Love them! (I have an embarrassingly large collection of cupcake wrappers… I can’t resist a cute design! At least they are cheap :) )

Chocolate Whipped Cream Frosting


Ingredients

  • 1 cup (8 oz) heavy cream, chilled
  • ½ cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted before measuring
  • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted before measuring

Directions

  1. Using a chilled metal bowl and chilled beaters, whip the cream for 2 minutes until it just starts to thicken.
  2. Add the sugar and cocoa and continue beating until thick enough to hold firm peaks.

Yield: About 2 cups

Note: Cupcakes can be made & frosted ahead of time and stored in the refrigerator.  I also recommend storing the whipped cream in the refrigerator if you aren’t going to serve it within an hour or so.

Source: Williams Sonoma Baking Cookbook (Pg. 317)

Dark Chocolate Garnishes


Ingredients

  • ½ cup bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. In a microwave-safe bowl, melt the chocolate chips, stirring every 15 seconds until the chocolate is fully melted (in my microwave, this took approximately 90 seconds). Pour the melted chocolate into a squeeze bottle.
  2. Line a small baking sheet (the baking sheet must fit in your freezer) with waxed paper.  If desired, place a piece of white paper with your “designs” underneath the waxed paper so that you can trace them (see photo below).
  3. Squeeze the chocolate onto the waxed paper lined baking sheet.  You can either trace your designs or draw them freehand.
  4. Place the baking sheet in the freezer for 1-2 hours, or until the chocolate is set.  Once hardened, remove the chocolate with a thin spatula and garnish cupcakes as desired.

Notes:

  • These chocolate garnishes melt quickly.  Make sure you store them in the freezer until you are ready to remove them from the waxed paper and assemble the cupcakes.
  • The chocolate garnishes can be made a few days ahead of time and stored in the freezer.
  • If you don’t have a squeeze bottle, you can use a ziplock bag (snip the corner off) or a pastry bag.  You can purchase squeeze bottles at craft stores.

I used Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips to make the garnishes.

Squeeze bottle filled with melted chocolate.

K for Karen – To make this design, I printed out a “K” on my computer and traced it with chocolate. I think it would be really cute to make chocolate monogrammed cupcakes for a party.

My favorite chocolate design.

My other favorite – sometimes the best designs are the ones where you just scribble!

A heart that I traced from my computer print out. It turns out, hearts are much easier to draw freehand.

5 Responses to “Chocolate Whipped Cream Frosting with Mini Chocolate Chip Cupcakes & Dark Chocolate Garnishes”


  1. 1 Kathy July 20, 2010 at 2:42 PM

    These cupcakes are so good looking! I love the dark chocolate
    garnishes. Wondering if they last long enough to serve, say at
    a party?
    KR

    • 2 Karen July 20, 2010 at 2:57 PM

      The chocolate garnishes would be fine as long as they were in a fairly cool room. I wouldn’t leave the whipped cream frosting out for too long though, because you don’t want it to spoil.

  2. 3 Christina July 21, 2010 at 8:04 AM

    This looks amazing! I am always looking for new icing recipes because I often find that chocolate and vanilla are too heavy for the lightness of the cupcake. I can’t wait to try this!

    Have you ever tried whipping some melted mini marshmallows into your frosting? It has the same lighter effect and it gives the frosting a sticky gooey consistency. Yum!

  3. 4 Jessica July 21, 2010 at 8:27 AM

    Wow this is a great idea. My bother and sister are coming up for a visit next month and I bet they would love to make the chocolate decorations to go along with cupcakes.

    This is the first time I’ve looked at your blog and I’m really impressed. I don’t know where you get the time to do all of the cooking and then having the time to post everything.

    Why didn’t we cook like this when we were in collage. So many missed moments to make wonderful food. :-D

  4. 5 kristineskitchen July 22, 2010 at 2:12 PM

    These cupcakes look so good, Karen! I love your idea of making chocolate whipped cream and the cute chocolate garnishes. Thank you for all of your tips on how to make them!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

