White Wine Sangria

White Wine Sangria

If you are a wine enthusiast like me, then you will love sangria.  While I do enjoy the occasional cocktail or beer, wine has always been my beverage of choice.  Sangria is a fun twist on wine, and it’s the perfect fruity summer drink.  It’s been on my “to make” list for quite some time, so when my family came over for dinner last weekend, it was the perfect opportunity to mix up a pitcher of sangria.  Everyone loved it, including my younger brother who doesn’t even like wine very much!

Since this was my first time making sangria, I searched around on the Food Network’s website for a recipe that looked good.  During my search, I found that there are many ways to make sangria.  Many of the recipes I skimmed through called for the addition of brandy or other liqueurs, but I wanted a recipe that only had wine as the alcoholic component (I wanted this to be a simple and light drink… nothing too boozy!)  The recipe I chose has apple juice in it, which went very well with the white wine.  Another fun thing about sangria is that you get to eat the yummy fruit after it has soaked up all of the juice– everyone agreed that the grapes were their favorite.  I’m so glad I discovered this refreshing drink!

White Wine Sangria

Ingredients

  • 1 bottle white wine (such as Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, or Sauvignon Blanc)
  • ¼ cup super fine sugar
  • 1 lime, thinly sliced
  • 1 lemon, thinly sliced
  • 1 small Granny Smith apple, cored and thinly sliced
  • 1 small Golden Delicious apple, cored and thinly sliced
  • 1 cup seedless red grapes, sliced in half
  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 1 (12-ounce) can seltzer water
  • Ice cubes

Directions

  1. In a large pitcher combine the wine and sugar and stir until the sugar dissolves.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients, except the seltzer and ice cubes, and stir to mix well.  Put the pitcher in the refrigerator and let the sangria sit for at least 1 hour or up to 4 hours.
  3. Just before serving, stir in the seltzer and ice cubes.

Source: Adapted from the Food Network, Brian Boitano

2 Responses to “White Wine Sangria”


  1. 1 kristineskitchen August 13, 2010 at 1:12 PM

    This looks really good, and beautiful too! I like how the only alcohol in it is the wine.


  1. 1 Twix Caramel Brownies « Cooking with Karen Trackback on August 12, 2011 at 1:08 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

