Banana Cinnamon Muffins

A few days ago my fruit bowl was full of overly ripe bananas.  I don’t like to eat over-ripe bananas by themselves – I only like plain bananas that are yellow or even have a slight hint of green to them.  So whenever my bananas get brown spots on them, I try to find another use for them.  Usually I put them into smoothies (click here for my favorite smoothie recipe!)  But this time I was in the mood for something different.  So I did a quick recipe search and found this recipe for banana cinnamon muffins that I recently bookmarked in Google Reader.

These muffins were so moist and flavorful, and I love that they are healthy too.  There is hardly any sugar or butter in them, and if you do the math, you’ll notice that each muffin has a whole 1/3 of a banana in it.  I really like the cinnamon flavor in these muffins, though I think they could use even more cinnamon, so next time I make them I am going to use 1 ½ to 2 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of one.  The recipe makes 12 muffins, and I stored the extra muffins in the freezer so that they stay super fresh.  Pair one of these muffins with a glass of calcium-fortified orange juice for a healthy and delicious breakfast!

Banana Cinnamon Muffins

(print recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 over-ripe bananas, mashed
  • ¼ cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ cups  all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly grease a muffin tin or line with baking cups.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and continue to beat.  Mix in the mashed banana.  Stir in the milk and vanilla extract.
  3. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just blended.
  4. Spoon the batter evenly between the muffin cups and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.  Allow to cool and store in an airtight container at room temperature or in the freezer.
  5. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Yield: 12 standard size muffins

Source: The Pastry Affair

One Year Ago: Tomato, Mozzarella, & Basil Tart

5 Responses to “Banana Cinnamon Muffins”


  1. 1 kristineskitchen May 24, 2011 at 7:04 PM

    I’m excited to have a new muffin recipe to try! I don’t think I can ever have too many!

  2. 2 Kathy May 24, 2011 at 9:39 PM

    I have ripe bananas in my fruit bowl right now, so this
    sounds like the perfect recipe! Thanks for sharing!
    KR

  3. 3 Sues May 25, 2011 at 8:23 AM

    I’m always looking for something to do with my overripe bananas and these sound fabulous! I’m always up for a muffin :)


  1. 1 Banana Cinnamon Muffins « Kristine's Kitchen Trackback on August 9, 2011 at 7:22 AM
  2. 2 Banana Cake with Chocolate Glaze « Cooking with Karen Trackback on September 3, 2011 at 11:14 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

