Twix Caramel Brownies

When I first saw the recipe for these Twix Caramel Brownies on the blog ‘Two Peas and Their Pod’, I could not get them out of my mind.  I mean, how can you resist brownies made out of chocolate, caramel, and Twix bars??  I absolutely love the combination of chocolate and caramel, so I knew I would love these brownies.  After a few days went by and I still couldn’t stop thinking about these brownies, I finally decided it was time to give into my craving, so I picked up some Twix bars and caramel sauce at the grocery store, and then got to work in my kitchen.

And all I can say is wow.  These brownies are amazing!  They are definitely some of the best brownies I have ever had.  They are so fudgy, rich, and chocolaty.  And the addition of caramel and Twix bars takes them over the top – I love the extra little bit of crunch and sweetness that the Twix bars impart.  If you are in the mood for a fancier variation of classic brownies, try these Twix caramel brownies!

Twix Caramel Brownies

(print recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs
  • ¾ cup cocoa
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ cups chopped Twix candy bars
  • 1/3 cup caramel ice cream topping

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9 x 13 pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

2. Place butter in a medium saucepan on the stove. Heat over medium heat until the butter is melted. Remove from the heat and stir in sugar and vanilla extract. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well with spoon after each addition. Add cocoa; stir until well blended. Add flour, baking powder and salt; stir until combined. Stir in Twix candy bar chunks. Pour batter into prepared pan.

3. Drizzle caramel evenly over the brownies. Using a toothpick, swirl caramel into brownies. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool brownies completely in pan on a wire rack. Once cool, cut into squares and serve.

Yield: 24 brownies

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

One Year Ago: White Wine Sangria


2 Responses to “Twix Caramel Brownies”


  1. 1 Sues August 15, 2011 at 5:30 AM

    Twix are one of my favorite candies and I bet they’re AMAZING in brownies! :)


  1. 1 Dark Chocolate Brownies « Kristine's Kitchen Trackback on August 24, 2011 at 4:21 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

