Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Now that I’m getting closer to the end of my pregnancy, I haven’t been cooking or baking nearly as much as I used to.  There are two reasons for this.  First, I’ve been spending a lot of my free time preparing for my babies to arrive, and second, I just don’t have the energy to spend hours in my kitchen like I used to.  I used to cook or bake something almost every day, but now it’s more like only once or twice a week.  Lucky for me, I married a man that likes to cook too, so he has been making a lot of our dinners lately.  :)  These days when I do cook, I’ve been choosing simpler, less time consuming recipes, so that I have more time to rest (and tackle my never-ending to-do list!)

These peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are a great example of the type of recipes I have been baking lately.  They take less than 20 minutes to make (plus cooking time).  If you’re fortunate enough to have your sister (or a friend) over to help you like I was, they take even less time!  :)  And all of the ingredients are common pantry items, so no special trip to the grocery store is needed.  These cookies are the perfect thing to make to satisfy your sweet tooth.  They are soft, chewy, and filled with the flavors of chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal – a classic and delicious combination.  I’m sure I will be making these cookies again and again!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

(print recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • ½ cup creamy peanut butter
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  2. On medium speed, cream together the butter, peanut butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract, about 3 minutes.  Add the egg and beat to combine.  On low speed, gradually add the flour until just combined.  Stir in the oats, and then the chocolate chips.
  3. If desired, you may refrigerate the dough for at least 2 hours, but no more than 36 hours.
  4. A few minutes before you are ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  5. Use a large cookie scoop (3 tablespoons) and drop dough onto prepared baking sheets about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until the cookies are lightly golden and just set in the center.  Cool completely on the baking sheet and then store in an airtight container at room temperature.

Yield: 16-18 cookies

Source: Kristine’s Kitchen; Originally adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

One Year Ago: Mocha Cupcakes with Espresso Buttercream Frosting

2 Responses to “Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 kristineskitchen August 20, 2011 at 7:36 AM

    This is one of my favorite cookie recipes. The combination of peanut butter, oatmeal, and chocolate is delicious. I had fun baking with you yesterday!

  2. 2 Sues August 20, 2011 at 9:27 AM

    These look SO good! I love how you can tell from the picture how soft they are :) Congrats on almost welcoming your new baby home :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

