Sunrise Smoothie

Sunrise Smoothie


Sometimes drinking your fruit is the best way to eat it!  Homemade smoothies are fun to make, and taste so much fresher and better than store bought ones.  Can you believe this is the first time I’ve ever made a smoothie at home?  I like ordering them when I’m out, but until yesterday, I never got around to making one myself.  In the past 24 hours, I’ve already made 2 smoothies – this one, as well as a chocolate peanut butter banana smoothie.  I have to admit, I made the chocolate peanut butter banana one on the spur of the moment… This morning when I walked into my office, there was a big scary spider on my desk (in reality it wasn’t very big, but who cares?  It was a spider none-the-less!  Ick!)  Naturally, I screamed, and my husband was kind enough to run downstairs and save me (and my workspace) from it.  I had to find a way to thank him, so I made him a PB chocolate banana smoothie for breakfast.  :)  He was very grateful and said he’d much rather squish a spider than make a smoothie, but I totally disagree, 1000%.

But I digress… back to this Sunrise Smoothie…   This is a recipe that I found in one of my Ina Garten cookbooks, and it was so delicious and refreshing!  It was super healthy too.  The flavor combination was perfect– strawberries, watermelon, peaches, OJ, and raspberry sorbet- yum!  I served it in a wine glass for a festive touch.  Is it just me, or does everything taste better when it is served in a wine glass?!  Enjoy!

Sunrise Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 cup chopped ripe strawberries (5 large strawberries)
  • 1 cup chopped seeded watermelon
  • 1 cup chopped fresh peach
  • 1 cup raspberry sorbet
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (I just used store-bought orange juice)

Directions

  1. Place the strawberries, watermelon, peach, sorbet, and orange juice in a blender and puree until smooth and creamy. Add more orange juice if you’d like it a little less thick.
  2. Serve immediately in glasses with straws.

Yield: 2 servings

Note: You can substitute frozen strawberries and peaches for the fresh ones.

Source: Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics Cookbook, by Ina Garten

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


